European Football Business Leagues United - Passion, fun and fair play

POLYGONVATRO Kickers win German Business Cup 2019

24 June 2019 /

Earlier this month, 30 teams gathered in Düsseldorf to participate in the national finals of BUSINESS CUP 2019.

In the match for the title, POLYGONVATRO Kickers, who finished second at the tournament in Dortmund on 31st March, recorded an impressive 4-0 over Autodoc GmbH, the winners of the tournament in Berlin on 7th April!

The bronze medals went to the champions of the Hannover tournament, the team of FC East West, who defeated BWB GmbH, the runners-up of the Berlin tournament, by 2-0 on penalties in the small final.

The event took place on 2nd June and featured the top teams from the 15 German cities which hosted BUSINESS CUP 2019 tournaments this year - Augsburg, Stuttgart, Düsseldorf, Nürnberg, München, Troisdorf, Dortmund, Hannover, Berlin, Bremen, Hamburg, Aachen, Aachen, Heidelberg and Frankfurt.

The participants were divided into 6 groups of 5 teams each and the 5-a-side formations played 10-minute games on artificial turf. Following the group stage marathon of 60 matches, which were played on 4 pitches at COSMO SPORTS, the top two teams from each group together with the four best 3rd placed team qualified for the round of 16 of the phase of direct elimination.

POLYGONVATRO Kickers cruised through the group stage with 3 wins, 1 draw and a goal difference of 10-1! The toughest challenge for the Dortmund team, however, was waiting for them in the round of 16 as the match against Gebäudereinigung Petersen from Hannover had to be decided on penaties. After that drama, POLYGONVATRO Kickers went on to beat Sparhandy (Troisdorf) by 3-1 in the quartefinals and BWB GmbH (Berlin) by 5-1 in the semifinals before reaching the final and recording another big win there.

BUSINESS CUP 2019, whose ambassador was the popular former German player Ansgar Brinkmann - "The White Brazilian", started with the tournament in Augsburg on 23rd February and finished 14 weeks later with the traditional national finals in Düsseldorf on 2nd June. In total, 374 competed in 15 German cities and the final standings are:

1. POLYGONVATRO Kickers (Dortmund)
2. Autodoc GmbH (Berlin)
3. FC East West (Hannover)
4. BWB GmbH (Berlin)